No Mickelson as 156 golfers begin chase for U.S. Open glory

Via Steve Keatingbought beneath approach on Thursday below sunny skies however without Phil Mickelson, the 5-times main winner who withdrew to attend his daughter’s high school commencement.

Six instances a runner-up at the U.S. Open, Mickelson skipped another chance at completing a occupation grand slam when it become obvious Mother Nature used to be now not going to cooperate and prolong the start of the hole round.

Mickelson had saved lovers and officers guessing nearly down to the wire, putting on to the longshot hope that storms would possibly lengthen the start of the year’s 2d major and allow him to attend the commencement then fly from San Diego to Wisconsin to make his 2:20 p.m. Crucial (1920 GMT) tee time.

“With Out A rain in today’s forecast Phil Mickelson has officially withdrawn from the 117th U.S. Open,” the U.S. PGA Tour established on its Twitter page.

His withdrawal marked the top of a golfing technology with the 117th U.S. Open turning into the first main to now not include Mickelson and/or Tiger Woods since the 1994 Masters.

Woods, who lately underwent his fourth back surgical procedure, has now not performed a PGA Tour event due to the fact that January at Torrey Pines, the website of the closing of his 14 major wins in 2008. The remaining main he played in was once the 2015 PGA Championship.

Early starters were greeted Via top scoring prerequisites on the links type Erin Hills with rains having softened the route and brought probably the most chew out of the 7,741-yard monster that’s the longest structure in U.S. Open history.

Wisconsin native Jordan Niebrugge had the consideration of firing the hole shot from the primary tee as a box of 156 started out the chase for major glory.

American Talor Gooch was the early chief, mixing three birdies with a bogey on his outward 9 to get to 2-under.

A Few Of golf’s biggest names had been among the many early starters, together with a mouth-watering threesome of U.S. Open winners in reigning champion Dustin Johnson, 2015 winner Jordan Spieth and Germany’s Martin Kaymer, who lifted the trophy in 2014.

Spieth and Kaymer each had early birdies while Johnson was once degree par thru three holes.

(Enhancing With The Aid Of Mark Heinrich)

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Comments are closed.